HomeTravel NewsFoundation Announces New7Wonders of Nature

Foundation Announces New7Wonders of Nature

The New7Wonders Foundation has announced the first count of the global vote to elect the New7Wonders of Nature. They are the Amazon, Halong Bay, Iguazu Falls, Jeju Island, Komodo, Puerto Princesa Underground River, and Table Mountain.

Announcing the results at the headquarters of the New7Wonders Foundation in Zurich, Switzerland, Bernard Weber, Founder-President of New7Wonders, said: “I would like to thank the many champions, citizens, voluntary organisations, public bodies and governments that have helped promote the New7Wonders of Nature campaign over the past four years, starting with over 440 locations from over 220 countries and all the way to the 28 finalist candidates from whom the New7Wonders of Nature have been chosen.”

The results announced are provisional and based on the first count of votes completed since voting ended on Friday. The results will now be checked, validated and independently verified. Once the voting validation process is completed, in early 2012, New7Wonders will then work with the confirmed winners to organise the official inauguration events.

“We congratulate each of these participants on achieving their provisional New7Wonders of Nature status, and look forward to completing the confirmation process to celebrate each one in their own official inauguration ceremony early in 2012,” said Bernard Weber. “When the New7Wonders of Nature are confirmed they will join the man-made New7Wonders of the World in becoming part of global memory for humankind for ever.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Must Read